Superstars Logo
Welcome to the official website of
Superstars Cricket Club
Home Page
News Archive
Fixtures & Results
Photo Gallery
Contact Us
Superstars Logo
Popular Links
Current Fixtures/Results
Last Season's Results
Current Tour
Current Awards Night Report
Current Annual Stats
Ken Block Trophy
Time and Place
Friday 28th November 1997, Eland House Darts Bar
Ray George, Ken Block, Paul Hogg, Tony Whitrod, Steve Carter, Mike Taylor, Steve Meyler, Mervyn Aranha, Tim Barraclough.
Matt Conway, Yogesh Patel, Steve Lomas, Andy Jacobs, Terry Carter, Barry Gigg, Tom Wilson, Andy Longhurst, Ron Gleeson and Phil Patten.
Minutes of the last meeting and matters arising
These were agreed. No matters were arising.
Chairman's Report
The Chair thanked the outgoing committee for their work and support throughout the year, and also to the members as a whole. He gave special thanks to all the players who helped transport the kit to and from the games, Steve Meyler for organising the kit on behalf of the club. He also expressed his thanks to Mrs Block, who had provided teas at several of the games. He further reported that both teams within the club had enjoyed a successful season, and that both teams had managed to recruit a couple of very good players. He also apologised to the committee and to the OSD side in particular about his lack of availability during the season. This was because of work commitments, but he hoped the situation would ease for the 1998 season
Secretary's Report
The Secretary reported that both clubs had enjoyed a successful season, both teams winning more matches than they lost. He also thanked the outgoing committee for their support during the season. He reported that the club had managed to recruit some more players and had increased the membership from the previous year. He gave special thanks to Ken Block for his assistance during the year, and congratulated him for achieving his first ever 50 in the season, and for taking 33 wickets, the highest ever in one season.
Treasurer's Report
As the Treasurer was absent due to other commitments, he had sent a report to the AGM. Subject to amendment due to an unpaid invoice for trophies this was agreed.
Election of Officers
The following for elected-
ChairmanRay George
Vice ChairBarry Gigg
SecretaryTony Whitrod
Asst SecretaryKen Block
TreasurerPaul Hogg
Committee MembersSteve Meyler, Mervyn Aranha, Mike Taylor, Phil Patten, Steve Carter
AuditorTim Barraclough
Two motions had been received
1) This motion was withdrawn.
2) This AGM agrees that the levy for teas should be raised to 1.50 per head for every game where teas are supplied. Proposed: Ken Block. Seconded: Paul Hogg
This motion was carried unanimously
Arrangements for 1998 Season
As a number of players from the OSD side of the Cricket Club were in the process of taking VER/VES, Tony suggested that there would not be enough players on that side of the club to run two teams next year, unless anybody stepped forward at the meeting. It was therefore agreed after some discussion, that the club should run only one side in the 1998 season, and this would be reviewed at the next AGM.
Steve Meyler agreed in his position as Kit Supervisor to take stock of the current equipment and advise the Committee of any items that might be required for the coming season.
Any Other Business
Ken announced that Superstars Cricket team would be touring Somerset during the May Bank Holiday. Paul Hogg further reported that from a grant of 80 pounds from the CSBF, we had managed to raise 354 pounds from sponsorship.
Tony Whitrod announced that he would be leaving the Civil Service on the 9th January and would continue to carry out the Secretaries duties until then, and subject to DOETRA approval would carry on until the next AGM.
There was no other business, so the Chair wished everybody a Merry Christmas and a happy New Year, and closed the meeting.
Ken Block, Assistant Secretary
comments powered by Disqus
Related Links
1997 Stats
Career Stats as at 1997
1997 Captain's Report
1997 Player's Report
1997 Yorkshire Tour
The first ever 100 for Superstars
1997 History
AGMs from other years
2013 AGM
2012 AGM
2011 AGM
2010 AGM
2009 AGM
2008 AGM
2007 AGM
2006 AGM
2005 AGM
2004 AGM
2003 AGM
2002 AGM
2001 AGM
2000 AGM
1999 AGM
1998 AGM
1997 AGM