Superstars Logo
Welcome to the official website of
Superstars Cricket Club
Home Page
News Archive
Fixtures & Results
Photo Gallery
Contact Us
Superstars Logo
Popular Links
Current Fixtures/Results
Last Season's Results
Current Tour
Current Awards Night Report
Current Annual Stats
Ken Block Trophy
Time and Place
Friday 30 November 2000, 5.30pm, Civil Service Social Club, Chadwick St
Ray George, Mike Taylor, Steve Meyler, Barry Gigg, Phil Patten, Steve Carter, Richard Abigail, Craig Perera, Chris Smith, David Crozier, Siva N.
Tom Wilson, Steve Lomas, Nick Nguyen, Jason Marchant, Ken Block, Matt Conway, Mike Kamellard.
Minutes of the last meeting and matters arising
These were agreed. There were no matters arising.
Chairman's Report
The Chairman thanked the committee for running the club over the year. He also thanked Phil Patten for his end of season and tour report and Steve Meyler for organising the tour in Wales. He noted that the club had once again had an active season and had managed to recruit a number of new members. The teams results over the season had been very good; on tour - played 2 lost 2, regular season - played 18 won 15.
Secretary's Report
The Secretary thanked the Chairman, Treasurer and Fixture Secretary for their hard work behind the scenes over the season. It had been another successful year on the pitch - more successful than the previous year. He commented that the club had attracted some excellent new players and that they would continue to try to recruit new players for the coming season. He praised the club for its role in enhancing departmental team spirit and promoting sport for all.
Treasurer's Report
The Treasurer said that the accounts were in order. These had been audited and would be put to DOETRA as soon as possible. The small number of players not having paid their annual subscription for the season would be required to pay double at the start of the coming season.
Election of Officers
There were no nominations received. The current Committee was elected unopposed. Elected officers were as follows-
ChairmanSteve Carter
SecretaryMike Taylor
TreasurerBarry Gigg
Fixture SecretarySteve Meyler
Committee MembersRay George, Dave Crozier, Jason Marchant, Simon Gundry, Richard Abigail
AuditorTom Wilson
Club CaptainBarry Gigg
There were FOUR motions received. All were proposed by Steve Meyler and Seconded by Ken Block.
Motion 1 We propose that the end of season player of the year trophy reverts back to being awarded to the player who receives the most votes in that category in the end of season poll. This Motion was Carried.
Motion 2 We propose that a separate trophy or award be made to the player who receives the most man of the match awards at the end of the season. A suitable award/trophy to be decided by the committee. This Motion was Carried.
Motion 3 - We propose that in future, on the end of season poll, from next season onwards, that the player of the year trophy (under the current rules), be re-named Most Man of the Match Awards. This Motion was Withdrawn.
Motion 4 We propose that changes to the criteria for any of the following end of season awards, shall in future, only be made following motions put forward at the AGMs. This Motion was Withdrawn.
Arrangements for 2000 Season
The DOETRA funding bid was discussed and agreed. Fixtures for the coming season were discussed. It was agreed that the club would arrange fixtures with the same clubs as last year (except for 2 clubs which had failed to organise teams on a number of occasions) and try to arrange fixtures with new clubs where possible the Fixture Secretary would look into this. The club would also look into arranging pre-season nets.
Any Other Business
The club had spent very little on kit over the past year and more would need to be spent this year to replace worn out kit. Chris Smith agreed to look into getting kit for the club at a discounted rate. Steve Meyler would once again look after the kit. The club was planning a pre-season tour to Yorkshire and would once again be raising money for the CSBF. Members were encouraged to make every effort to raise money for the Fund. The club raised 178 pounds for the CSBF this year. Club subscriptions would remain the same for the coming year.
There being no other business the meeting closed at 7.15.
Mike Taylor, Secretary
comments powered by Disqus
Related Links
2000 Results and reports
Nick Nguyen 100 & Record Partnership with Matt Conway
2000 Stats
2000 Player Reports
2000 Llanelli Tour Report
2000 Sports Day winners
2000 History
AGMs from other years
2013 AGM
2012 AGM
2011 AGM
2010 AGM
2009 AGM
2008 AGM
2007 AGM
2006 AGM
2005 AGM
2004 AGM
2003 AGM
2002 AGM
2001 AGM
2000 AGM
1999 AGM
1998 AGM
1997 AGM