Superstars Logo
Welcome to the official website of
Superstars Cricket Club
Home Page
News Archive
Fixtures & Results
Photo Gallery
Contact Us
Superstars Logo
Popular Links
Current Fixtures/Results
Last Season's Results
Current Tour
Current Awards Night Report
Current Annual Stats
Ken Block Trophy
The Superstars gathered to celebrate a good season on and off the pitch. They were delighted to out-fox the paparazzi again by avoiding booking the Dome or the Royal Albert Hall but instead went for the Old Star in Westminster. Better luck next year the News of the World! There was a good buffet, lively chat and the ever popular stats to keep everyone amused. There was a good turnout, with legends from the past mixing with the current Superstars.
Our hosts and comperes, Chairman Steve Meyler and Captain Barry Gigg, took charge of the ceremony. The usual long list of awards were presented, reflecting the good, the bad and the ugly of the Superstars' 2010 season. The winners of the trophies were-
Player of the Year
Will Walker
Batsman of the Year
Mike Taylor
Bowler of the Year
The New Sandeep
Equally fought over were the certificate awards, the pride of many a fridge or pinboard over the next year. The delighted winners (or in some cases should that be losers) of these awards were-
Players' batsman of the Year
Will Walker
Players' bowler of the Year
Jeremy Keates
Fielder of the Year
Jeremy Keates
All Rounder of the Year
Scott Thornton
Improver of the Year
Colin Davey
Most Regressed Player of the Year
Paul Gaught
Veteran of the Year
Barry Gigg
Newcomer of the Year
Ian Moxon
Catch of the Season
Ralph Mould
Drop catch of the Season
Simon Dancers
Player most likely to catch a skier
Mike Taylor
Player least likely to catch a skier
Paul Gaught
Biggest Poser in the Field
Sandeep, of course
Best Umpire
Mike Taylor
Worst Umpire
Average Protection
Mike Taylor
Most Likely to Run you out
Barry Gigg, of course
Run Out of the Year
Marchant/Sandeep carnage
Injury of the Year
Colin Davey's calf (Barn Elms)
Worst Excuse for missing a match
Jason's pussy
Most missed former player
Richard Abigail
Academy product of the year
Joleon Conway
Funniest Moment
Mike and Scott's winning partnership v ATOC
Player most likely to be involved in match fixing
Paul G and Sandeep in collusion
Favourite Opponents 2010
comments powered by Disqus
Related Links
2010 Results
2010 Stats
2010 Ken Block Trophy (the first ever series)
2010 Sports Day Report
2010 Sports Day Gallery
2010 AGM
Harish and Will's record 10th wicket stand
2010 History
Awards from other years
2013 Winners
2013 Gallery
2012 Winners
2012 Gallery
2011 Winners
2011 Gallery
2010 Winners
2009 Winners
2008 Winners
2008 Gallery
2007 Winners
2007 Gallery