Superstars Logo
Welcome to the official website of
Superstars Cricket Club
Home Page
News Archive
Fixtures & Results
Photo Gallery
Contact Us
Superstars Logo
Popular Links
Current Fixtures/Results
Last Season's Results
Current Tour
Current Awards Night Report
Current Annual Stats
Ken Block Trophy
It's a real shame no one can find a report from the 2010 Sports Day as we did rather well! However using a little bit of collective memory and a little bit of poetic licence we've pulled together the following happened-
Superstars entered two sides with Barry captaining the "Superstars" and Jason the "Souperstars" (Paul's suggestion of the "Mediocrestars" having been ignored). Both sides cruised the group stage at the new venue of Teddington CC, with the deer increasing the number of spectators.
Semi finals bought a relatively easy victory for Superstars over Codgers but in the other semi final Dodgers took on Souperstars. New signing TNT (Tom Newman-Taylor) exploded into action and the SOuperstars had pulled of a famous giant-killing. There were momentus scenes akin to a 3rd Round FA Cup shock with tearful players congratualating one another, fans in dodgy parka coats invading the pitch and captain Jason being carried from the ground on fans' shoulders. Or something like that, I wasn't there but that's how i imagine it.
The final was therefore an all Superstars affair and although the Soups tried hard they were always slightly behind the run rate. Possibly the key moment was when Will Walker bowled a beautiful delivery with a cunning bit of captaincy and had Tom caught on the cow corner boundary (that fair, Will?!) and Superstars deservedly won the tournment, although many will remember the day for that historic victory for our second 6 over Dodgers' premier outfit. Mark C and Jason were both battered and bruised by the end of the day, but it was worth it for that win. Simon Gundry was named player of tournament. Again. And Ben Monks produced a fantastic set of over 50 pictures, available in the related links box.
comments powered by Disqus
Related Links
2010 Sports Day Gallery
2010 Results
2010 Stats
2010 Ken Block Trophy (the first ever series)
2010 Awards Winners
2010 AGM
Harish and Will's record 10th wicket stand
2010 History
Sports Days from other years
2013 Report
2012 Report
2012 Gallery
2011 Report
2011 Gallery
2010 Report
2010 Gallery
2009 Gallery
2008 "Report"
2008 Gallery
2007 4x100 Report
2003 Gallery
2000 Gallery