Superstars Logo
Welcome to the official website of
Superstars Cricket Club
Home Page
News Archive
Fixtures & Results
Photo Gallery
Contact Us
Superstars Logo
Popular Links
Current Fixtures/Results
Last Season's Results
Current Tour
Current Awards Night Report
Current Annual Stats
Ken Block Trophy
Time and Place
Friday 21st January 2000, Eland House Darts Bar
Ray George, Tony Whitrod, Mike Taylor, Steve Meyler, Barry Gigg, Phil Patten, Steve Carter, Jason Marchant, Richard Abigail, Simon Gundry.
Tom Wilson, Andrew Ledger, Ken Block, Steve Dennis, Nick Allan, Steve Lomas, David Crozier.
Minutes of the last meeting and matters arising
These were agreed. There were no matters arising.
Chairman's Report
The Chairman thanked the committee for running the club over the year and noted that the club had once again had an active season. He praised the club for its role in enhancing departmental team spirit and promoting sport for all.
Secretary's Report
The Secretary thanked Ray George, who was standing down as Chairman after five years, for his services to the club. He also thanked the outgoing members of the Committee for their support, particularly Paul Hogg (former Treasurer) who has moved to Leeds and Tim Barraclough (former Auditor) who has moved to Scotland. He noted that the club had managed to recruit new players through a poster campaign before the season. He thanked the main organisers who had done a good job in arranging the fixtures, etc over the past year. Fundraising for charity had raised approximately 300 and he thanked Steve Meyler for organising this.
Treasurer's Report
The Treasurer said that the accounts were in order and that these had been audited and put to DOETRA in November.
Election of Officers
A proposal had been made that Steve Carter should take over as Chairman of the club (Proposer: Michael Taylor, Seconder: Barry Gigg.) This was agreed by a majority vote.
Other elected officers were as follows-
ChairmanSteve Carter
SecretaryMike Taylor
TreasurerBarry Gigg*
Fixture SecretarySteve Meyler
Committee MembersRay George, Dave Crozier, Jason Marchant, Simon Gundry, Richard Abigail
AuditorTom Wilson
Club CaptainBarry Gigg
* For a further year only.
There were no motions received.
Arrangements for 2000 Season
Financial arrangements for 2000 were discussed. The bid for funds had been put forward to DOETRA and it was noted that this was for a smaller amount than previous years. It was felt that the cost of pitches may be more than that shown on the bid, and if the club played a few matches at Greenwich (as they had in the past) this could push costs up even further. It was also noted that in previous years the club had managed to keep the cost of cricket balls down by asking members to buy them in India or the Far East if they were going on holiday there. This year, however, it would not be possible as no-one was planning such a holiday. It was therefore felt that it may be necessary to submit a higher bid to DOETRA in mid-year, in the event that costs were higher than the original bid. Steve Carter agreed to organise the annual CSBF fund raising. It was agreed that subs for 2000 would be 2.50. Michael Taylor was appointed vice-captain.
Any Other Business
There being no other business the meeting closed at 7.30.
Mike Taylor, Secretary
comments powered by Disqus
Related Links
1999 Results and reports
1999 Captain Report
1999 Player Reports
1999 Stats
Career Stats as at 1999
1999 Worcestershire Tour Report
Tony Whitrod's 100
1999 History
AGMs from other years
2013 AGM
2012 AGM
2011 AGM
2010 AGM
2009 AGM
2008 AGM
2007 AGM
2006 AGM
2005 AGM
2004 AGM
2003 AGM
2002 AGM
2001 AGM
2000 AGM
1999 AGM
1998 AGM
1997 AGM